Just One Thing

IMG_0373IMG_0366

You guys ever seen the movie “City Slickers’? Well its a Billy Crystal movie, that has Daniel Stern, and cowboys <– Enough of a reason to see it and get some laughs.

Reason I bring this up is because 2 of the greatest movie lines come from that movie…

“If hate were people, I’d be CHINA!” <—- I crack up every time.

Curly: “Do you know what the secret of life is? [holds up one finger] This.”
Mitch: “Your finger?”
Curly: “One thing. Just one thing. You stick to that and the rest don’t mean shit.”
Mitch: “But, what is the “one thing?” ”
Curly: [smiles] “That’s what *you* have to find out.”

IMG_0357IMG_0365

I believe we are ALL always looking for that ONE thing. To some its religion, family, love… to others its something more. I’m gonna be a pessimist on this and say that most of us have absolutely NO CLUE what that ‘one thing’ is.

Now don’t get in a huff, its because we all have this urge to ‘find’ ourselves, or find this ‘one’ thing that drives us; to explore new things, push our limits, try harder, love more, be inventors, or just let the sky be our limit.

I almost think that ‘urge’ (I’ve now changed that ‘one’ thing to URGE) that is in all of us, is a gift. It can be a psychotic gift though. One that leaves you feeling that there is more to life, or URGING to you do more.

But why? Because you are capable.

IMG_0369IMG_0367

“I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much”– Mother Teresa (my all time favorite quote).

Christina is totally going to be the optimist now and say “Ya know that crazy feeling? The one leaving you feeling as though you will never find yourself. The mindset of not knowing what to do with your life, though you have experienced so much?” That feeling, is a gift from God (Buddha, aliens, your body, your mom, the earth) telling you that you are capable of more, and were made to DO MORE.

IMG_0374IMG_0370

Now don’t go jumping off roofs thinking you can fly. Start with baby steps, but TODAY (right now), let whatever CRAZY shit that just popped into your mind, well make it happen. Though it may not be something achievable today, take the first step in the right direction. Heck, WRITE IT DOWN, PIN IT UP, remind yourself, and throw yourself into the wind.

Dream BIG. Don’t set limitations on yourself, and especially don’t let anyone else set limitations (screw them, you don’t need people in your life like that anyways). You may have already dreamt up something, and wrote it down, go look for it! Pull it back out.

The ‘one’ thing doesn’t have to be an Ironman, marathon, climbing Mt. Everest. It could be learning a new language, reading ALL the books you own, saying “I love you more”. Most importantly be a POSITIVE change in the world. No matter what your dreams are, I challenge you to change the world (or those around you). Hell, YOUR STORY, may just be enough to set a positive influence on someone.

As you can see I have had some deep reflection on myself with some things. I am in a constant state of “do more”, or “perfect this”, but though I may try and steer myself those ways, well I stop and think “Am I in the right direction?”. I’ve stopped and looked around to see what I have surrounded myself with. What have my dreams been? They been bigger. The curve ball is to give myself 100% to my family while we are all together.

So crazy plans are in order. Hard ones. Crazy, REAL crazy ones. I’m excited and feel good about them. Scared but good. I just know that big things are in store, but I have to challenge myself. Ha, I never can seem to settle right? <— And thats not a bad thing.

Don’t save something for a special occasion. Every day of your life is a special occasion. – Thomas S Monson

Make things happen people, WANT IT… Then fill me in 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

