Once There Was a Girl and Her Yarn…

IMG_0659IMG_0664

Want to know a way to NOT accomplish anything (well chores)? Learn to knit.

Let me tell you a story:

There once was a girl that had a closet full of yarn and clothing. It was beautiful. Mounds of colors and textures that bring happiness to the fingers that touch them. One day this girl was sick and in her bathroom staring at the sickness take over her face and suck the life out of what she thought was a strong body. While looking into the mirror she caught a glimpse of something bright within her closet.

IMG_0666IMG_0684

She entered her closet and looked up on the shelf, where she then pulled on the bright texture… It was beautiful yarn. As she pulled out the yarn she didn’t realize it was a booby-trap that she had created in the past, that sent of a rubbermaid tub full of yarn down onto her head, knocking her onto the ground, where she ended up breaking a hanger in her ass (no lie). Though writhing in pain, and pissed about another broken hanger (she has a lot of clothes, those things are precious) she was surrounded by yarn all shapes and sizes…. also bags of half finished projects.

IMG_0689IMG_0682The poor girl with nothing to do but suck on her inhaler scooped up the yarn and project bags and shuffled to the couch. It is here that she started knitting away… and away…

The story doesn’t end. If you didn’t realize the “girl” is ME. I haven’t stopped knitting since I was sick 2 weeks ago. I’ve finished some projects, need to block a few, and have a pile of hats just chillin’ with no one to wear them. Though I’ve designated a few to a couple of Facebook friends (why did I have to say “Facebook” friends? I should be able to just say friends), and a pretty little girl named Emma, I still have some that need a home.

Would you like a hand knit cap?  <— Thats a dumb question. Who wouldn’t? Well I am sending some out, but I have no clue who reads this blog! So drop a comment!

Will also be posting some for donations!<— Need to raise/earn some money for some upcoming adventures! A lot of detail and pretty yarn goes into each project, totally worth a couple of cups of coffee to get a girl to a 100 Mile Paddle.

Don’t want a hat because you are already a bad ass knitter? <— Good for you! Share them on my wall because I want to see some bad ass caps/shawls/mittens/afghans/creatures/sweaters/socks!

P.S I miss my witty knitting group!
P.S.S Yes, I do wear sunglasses in my house with caps on when one has not had AT LEAST put her mascara on!

 

13 thoughts on “Once There Was a Girl and Her Yarn…

  1. Heather Cribbs

    You rock! And your knitting is fabulous. I’ve thought some day I’ll be crafty and learn to knit, but it hasn’t happened, and I’m not holding my breath…so I’ll just admire your work!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Janel

    Girl, I love your blog. I find myself talking about it to people I’ve just met…most of them think I’m crazy, and im okay with that. I’d love a hat, but I’d also love to donate to your race! I’ve been intrigued since I first read the description! xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mabel benson

    i love reading this blog. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR HATS! I’m inspired to make one! I just have no clue how! Youtube here I come!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

