I will…

IMG_0993

Its time, I’ve already had that taper breakdown to coach, I’ve been on edge, I’ve thought “I haven’t done enough” a million times.

I know a bunch of people will say “You got this!”, “All you need to do is finish”, “Time doesn’t matter”, “Its all about having fun”.

Thing is I KNOW I can do it. I WILL do it. Its about doing your BEST, not just getting by. If your philosophy is just getting by… well re-think how you approach life.IMG_0997

My big talk with Coach Audra was more around talking about how I WILL do it, not how I HOPE it will go.

You WILL get the shit beat out of you in the swim.
You WILL swim….
You WILL come out of that swim, hit the wetsuit stripper, grab a volunteer, get through your bags then get on your bike.
You WILL let 100 people pass you the first 10 miles, just let them go.
You WILL feel amazing at mile 80.
Moments of up or down WILL only be temporary. There are so many fleeting moments in Ironman, embrace the suck, it won’t last forever.
You WILL come out of that run and settle in for a long day.
You WILL hit your planned run breaks, when they are scheduled. None of this randomly deciding to walk shit.
You WILL stick to your plan
You WILL let anything that happens GO. Shit happens, don’t dwell on it, calm yourself down, move on  to the next moment.

IMG_0996This is a crazy week. More mental than physical. Hell I barely do anything, which leads me to think I am losing fitness, and its making me fat (I know I am not fat, but that bloated feeling is terrible).

I will pack. I will fly. I will knit 4 caps (who knows). I will rest. I will avoid any crazy. I will be calm.

You need to build that ego up so big that you can barely fit your head through the door.” –Coach A

Thank you all for the encouragement! I’ve had people call me and say “OMG You have an Ironman in ” ?” days!” …. I am so spaced out it catches me off guard half the time “Whoa! How many days?”. I think EVERYONE else is more excited than I am.

Heck, I AM excited, but I am just a little more calm into it. I’ll be excited when I cross that finish line ( I really hope I hear my name called, I didn’t hear it last time…).

So yeah, this time next week I’ll be on my bike cruising someone where through Arizona. Going to make new lifetime friends on the race course. I get to see so many teammates, family and friends, that will be at the race.

I really feel like this is bigger then Ironman CDA. Its a little bit more important to me.

If you didn’t know it…. its kinda a big deal.

2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run …. all in one day….yes, back to back.

 THIS IS GONNA BE SO TOTALLY AWESOME!!
*insert big cool aid grin*

 

One thought on “I will…

Leave a Reply

